« ForrigeFortsæt »
The first day the King came to their Chapter, found them meate and drinke, and dined with them. Another day the Quéene found them meate and drinke; afterward the Bishop of London, then the Abbot of Westminster, of S. Albans, Waltham, and others. In the yeere 1276, Gregory Rokesley, Maior, and the Barons of London, granted, and gave to Robert Kilwerby, Archbishop of Canterburie, two lanes or waies next the street of Baynards Castell, and the Tower of Mountfichet to be destroyed. On the which place the said Robert builded the late new Church, with the rest of the Stones that were left of the said Tower. And thus the Black Fryers left their Church and House by Oldbourne, and departed to their new."*
In the 16th of Edward the First, the old House of the Black Fryars was given by the King to Henry de Lacy, Earl of Lincoln, on the grounds or site of which he erected an Inn, where he frequently resided and died in 1310. Tradition says, that this Earl being “ a person well affected to the study of the Law" assigned Lincoln's Inn, as it was called, to the Professors of the Law, as a residence; and they afterwards acquired a considerable part of the adjoining demesne, southward, of the Bishops of Chichester.f That estate had originally belonged to a John Herlirum, or Herlizini, but having been forfeited to Henry the Third, was granted by bim
* Stow's “Survey,” p. 825 ; edit. 1618.
+ Chichester Place, on the west side of Chancery Lane, and Bishop's Court, opposite to it on the east side, still indicate the exact site of the ancient Palace and Gardens of the Bishop of Chichester,
in 1228, to Ralph de Nova Villa, or Neville, Lord Chancellor and Bishop of Chichester. Richard Sampson, who held that See in Henry the Eighth's reign, sold the inheritance of this House, with an attached Garden, called Cotterel Garden, to the brothers William and Eustace Sulgard, who were eminent legal practitioners, and his grant was confirmed by the Dean and Chapter of Chichester. Sir Edward Sulgard, knt. the son and heir of Eustace, conveyed the whole, in the 22nd of Elizabeth's reign, to the Benchers and Society of Lincoln's Inn, in fee, for the sum of £520. - The most ancient part of Lincoln's Inn, is the Hall, which was erected in 1506: it is 62 feet in length, and 32 feet in breadth; the windows, which are in the pointed style, contain numerous coats of arms. At the upper end, over the bench occupied by the Lord Chancellor, who occasionally holds his court here, is Hogarth's picture of Paul before Felix. The Gatehouse in Chancery-lane was erected in 1518, by Sir Thomas Lovel, knt., a fellow of, and also a great benefactor to, this Inn; but its venerable appearance has
1 been much deteriorated by the modern alterations of the windows. It is a brick building, with square towers on the flanks; over the pointed archway, towards the street, are the royal arms, with those of De Lacy on the dexter, and of Sir Thomas Lovel on the sinister side; underneath is the date 1518. The Chapel was erected in 1623, from the designs of Inigo Jones, but in 1791 it underwent great alterations and repairs, under the superintendence of Mr. Wyatt. In the windows are many emblazoned coats of arīns. Underneatb the chapel are the cloisters, which, until 1791, was the general burial place of the Society, but since that period the benchers only have had the privilege of interment there.
Searle's Court, or what is now denominated Lincoln's Inn New Square (which occupies the space formerly called Fickett's Place, or Little Lincoln's Inn Fields), was finished in 1697 : it was principally built by Henry Searle, Esq., whose arms, with those of the Inn, are over the gateway next Carey Street. In the centre of this square, which is neatly gravelled, was formerly an ornamental column and fountain, as shewn in the annexed print. It was erected from a design by Inigo Jones, and was of the Corinthian order, with a sun-dial placed at the top: at the angles of the pedestal were infant Tritons, wbu spouted water from their shells: its place is now occupied by a gas-lamp.
Stone Buildings is a handsome range of houses, facing the gardens, which was erected by the late Sir Robert Taylor, and forms part of a general plan which was then in contemplation for rebuilding the entire Inn. They are let out as chambers, and likewise contain the Library of the Society, which consists of books and manuscripts, chiefly collected by Sir Matthew Hale. Adjoining to this range is the Six Clerks Office, a handsome structure of stone, situated on the west side of Chancery-lane: this office was formerly held in a building called the Herflet Inn, which stood opposite the Rolls Office.
Lincoln's Inn Gardens are extensive and pleasant ; on the western side is a raised terrace.