« ForrigeFortsæt »
a piece of ground which had been granted him for that purpose by King Edgar, to whom he did homage for his kingdom, and by whom he was enjoined to come every year into England, to assist in the " forming of laws."* His posterity enjoyed it till the reign of Henry the Second, when, in consequence of the defection of William the First, then King of Scotland, it was forfeited to the English crown. It eventually became the residence of Margaret, sister of Henry the VIIIth., upon the death of her husband, James the IVth, of Scotland, who was slain at Flodden Field in 1513. The same Queen was also entertained here with great magnificence, at the reconciliation with her brother, on her second marriage with Archibald Douglas, Earl of Angus. It was afterwards deserted as a royal abode, and the old buildings gradually gave place to other and meaner erections, which occupied the ground until a recent period. In Charles the Second's reign, Scotland Yard formed an adjunct to Whitehall, as may be seen by referring to the ground plot of that Palace in the present volume. It was then inhabited, anno 1680, by officers and other per
* The Scottish Kings appear to have been anciently regarded as members of the English Parliament; and there are instances among the Tower records, of the issuing of writs to summon their attendance. In Pinkerton's "Iconographia Scotica" is an engraved representation of Edward the First sitting in Parliament, with Alexander, King of Scots, on his right, and Llewellyn, Prince of Wales, on his left hand this is stated to have been taken from a copy of an ancient limning, formerly in the English College of Arms. When the Scottish Sovereigns, in later times, attended to do homage for their fiefs of Cumberland and Westmoreland, they usually lodged in their Palace in Scotland Yard.
sons belonging to the Court, amongst whom was Sir John Denham, the Surveyor Genral; the Comptroller of the Works, the master carpenter, glazier, and mason, clerk of the works, poulterers, &c.*
The celebrated Sir John Vanburgh had a house in Scotland Yard, in 1708, which excited the ridicule of several of his contemporary wits, and particularly of Dean Swift, who wrote two satirical poems on the subject, in one of which he says:
"Now Poets from all quarters ran,
* As Edward, Lord Herbert of Cherbury, was riding through Scotland Yard, in James the First's reign, attended by two of his lackies, he was attacked by Sir John Ayres and four ruffians, who attempted to assassinate him, upon an ill grounded suspicion of a criminal connection between him and the Lady Ayres. Lord Herbert defended himself (one of his servants having immediately fled,) with great bravery, and a great part of the time with little more than the hilt of his sword, which had been broken in the commencement of the affray; and, at last, with the assistance of some gentlemen, who came up during the struggle, he put his assailants to flight, but not until he had received a stab in the right side. Sir John Ayres was afterwards apprehended, for this attempted murder; but it does not appear that he was ever brought to punishment.
This fabric, which was erected according to the peculiar taste of Sir John, was a mixture of the Grecian and Gothic styles of architecture; yet not by any means so contemptible as the Dean's satire would indicate.
In the annexed print, which was copied from a large engraving by Edward Rooker, Scotland Yard is represented as it appeared about 1770; but nearly all the old buildings have been demolished, and an entire new character given to this spot by the erection of new streets, and large and handsome houses, within the last eight or ten years.
ST. JAMES'S CHURCH, PICCADILLY.
This edifice, which has nothing exteriorly to recommend it, possesses one of the most elegant interiors that the metropolis, perhaps, can display. It was erected by our great architect, Sir Christopher Wren, and is one of the best constructed and most perfect of his designs. It was founded in the latter part of the reign of Charles Ilnd, by Henry Jermyn, Earl of St. Alban’s, as a chapel of ease to St. Martin's, and consecrated July the 13th, 1684. In the first year of the succeeding reign it was made parochial, by an Act of Parliament, intituled, “An Act for erecting a New Parish, to be called the parish of St. James's, within the Liberty of Westminster ;" thus making another division of the immense parish of St. Martin in the Fields, from which St. Paul's, Covent Garden, had been previously severed.