Billeder på siden
PDF
ePub
[merged small][merged small][graphic][subsumed][merged small][merged small]

sometimes of nuts and oranges and lemons. They are free in all places, and pay nothing for shop rent, but only find repairs to it. If they drink out their whole stock, it's but pawning a petticoat in Long-lane, or themselves in Turnhull-street, for to set up again. They change every day almost; for she that was this day for fish, may be to-morrow for fruit, next day for herbs, another for roots : so that you must hear them cry, before you know what they are furnished withal. When they have done their fair, they meet in mirth, singing, dancing, and in the middle (a parenthesis) they are scolding: but they do use to take and put up words, and end not till either their money, or wit, or credit, be clean spent out. Well, when in any evening they are not merry in a drinking-house, it is sus. pected that they have had bad return, or else have paid some old score, or else they are bankrupts. They are creatures soon up, and soon down."

a

COUNCIL CHAMBER OF KING HENRY THE EIGHTH.

a

In the first edition of Hall's “ Chronicle," printed by Richard Grafton in 1548, at the back of fol. cclxiij, is a very beautiful and spiritedly-executed wood-cut, representing Henry the Eighth presiding in Council. The King is seated upon his throne, in a chamber lined with tapestry, wrought into a regular pattern of alternate roses and fleurs-de-lis. The roof is of arched timber work, divided into square compartments, diagonally intersected, and having an ornamental pendant at each point of intersection. At the back of the throne, which has a fringed canopy, enriched with festoons and tassels, are the royal arms and supporters of the Tudor family.

[ocr errors][ocr errors]

That most industrious inquirer into the History of Printing, ihe Rev. T. F. Dibdin, has published an exact fac-simile of this “ extraordinary specimen of art,” in the third volume of his “ Typographical Antiquities,” and from that copy the annexed print has been reducer!. Mr. Dibdin imagines it to have been designed by Hans Holbein, and engraven by some foreign artist in Germany, or the Low Countries. original drawing,” he remarks, “ if in being, must be invaluable, as there is every reason to think that the Portraits, as well as the architectural disposition of the room, are copies from originals.” The impression in Hall's “ Chronicle,” when in large and fine condidition, is highly estimated by collectors.

« The

[ocr errors][merged small]

WARWICK HOUSE, CLOTH FAIR-LADY HOLLAND'S

MOB.

This mansion, which, at the present time, has no pretensions to antiquity in outward appearance, is thought to have been built in Queen Elizabeth's reign; and within memory the arms of England, as quartered in the time of that sovereign, were remaining in a window on the first floor. It was inhabited by Ro. bert, Earl of Warwick, the parliamentary general, to whose ancestor, Sir Robert Rich, knt. Chancellor of the Court of Augmentations, the Priory of St. Bartholomew, and its appurtenances, within the Great Close of St. Bartholomew's, had been sold by Henry the Eighth, in May 1544, for the sum of £1064. 11ş. 3d. At that period, Cloth Fair was within the precincts of

the Great Close ; and as a right to continue St. Bartholomew's Fair, as when in possession of the prior and convent, was included in the grant, it devolved to the Earls of Warwick and Holland, the descendants of Sir Robert Rich : and hence the origin of that “ uproarious rabblement,” called Lady Holland's Mob, which assembles to proclaim the fair, on the eve, or rather midnight of St. Bartholomew. Warwick House is now occupied by a cloth dealer.

CARLISLE HOUSE, LAMBETH.

CARLISLE HOUSE was erected about the year 1197, by Gilbert de Glanville, Bishop of Rochester, on a plot of ground which he had reserved for that purpose, when he exchanged the manor of Lambeth* for that of Darent, in Kent, with Hubert Walter, Archbishop of Canterbury: at which time it was called Rochester Place, and was used as an inn or lodging house by the Bishops of Rochester, whenever they came to London to attend parliament. In consequence of several disputes having arisen between the Archbishops of Canterbury and the Bishops of Rochester, respecting the access to this house from the river, (which Glanville had not taken the precaution to secure), John de Shepey, who was bishop of the see in 1357, obtained leave from Islip, Archbishop of Canterbury, to erect a bridge at Stangate for the convenience of himself and family to land from the Thames. The last prelate of

• Vide Account of Lambeth Palace, vol. iii. p. 303.

the see of Rochester, who resided at Carlisle House, was the unfortunate Bishop Fisher, who was beheaded on Tower Hill in 1535, for denying the king's supremacy.* In 1540, Bishop Heath exchanged this house with Henry VIII. for the mansion of the prior of St. Swithin, adjoining Winchester Palace, Southwark, which monarch granted it to Robert Aldridge, Bishop of Carlisle, in exchange for that prelate's inn in the Strand, which was called Carlisle Place. From that time the mansion obtained the name of Carlisle House; yet it does not appear to have ever been inhabited by the bishops of that see, and from the successive alterations which it underwent in the following century, every trace of its original character was ost. After the abolition of the episcopacy, this estate was sold by the parliamentary trustees, in February 1647, to Matthew Hardy, for £220., but it reverted to the see of Carlisle at the Restoration. Since that period it has

* In 1531, a most horrid murder was committed at Carlisle House, by Richard Roose, the bishop's cook: “ by throwing some poison into a vessel replenished with yest or barme, standing in the said bishop's kitchen, at bis place in Lambeth Marsh, he not only poisoned seventeen persons of his family, but also certain poor people which resorted to the said bishop's place, and were there charitably fed ; two of whom died.” For which deed, says Hall, he “ was boyled in Smythfeld, the Teneber Wednisday followyng, to therrible example of all other.” Vide Hall's “ Chronicle,” xxivth Hen. viii. fol. cc.

+ This mansion was afterwards called Worcester House ; its site is now occupied by Beaufort Buildings. Vide Strype's Stow, vol. ii. p. 114, edit. 1755.

« ForrigeFortsæt »