« ForrigeFortsæt »
Odilienberg, near the Waldersbach, the scene of Giessen passes by on the north, from the Vosges Oberlin's labours. Odilienberg is a favourite pil- mountains, which are in view. Manufactures of grim's chapel, founded by St. Odile, daughter of a pottery (enamelled pottery was invented here in duke of Alsace, on a height which commands a the twelfth century), metallic gauze, iron and view almost to Basle. There are several fine
copper, &c., are carried on. ruins about it, as the Castles of Rathsamhausen, Hotels : Adler; Bock; Goldnes Lamm. Landsberg, and Andau, and Truttenhausen con
[Branch rail to Markirch or St. Marie-auxvent.
Mines (Station), once noted for its silver Matzenheim (Station)-3 miles-on the Ill. works; thence to St. Dié, Epinal, Nancy, &c. Benfeld (Station)--27 miles-also on the Ill, in
Orschwiller (6 kil. west north-west), is in the the centre of the tobacco cultivation, and a small neighbourhood of the Ramstein and Ortenberg
towers, of Kirtzheim and its Castle, and under place of 3,000 souls, as old as the seventh century, but disinantled after the treaty of Münster. Coach to
the fine old Castle of Hohen Königsburg, which the
Swedes destroyed after they took this town, in Barr (11 kil. west-north-west), a Protestant town
the Thirty Years' War, 1632. It was built by the of 4,600 population, in a delightful hollow, under
Frankish kings, and became an imperial fief, being the Kirchberg, Hohenburg, Monkalb, and other
held by knights, who were half robbers and half heights. The old castle is replaced by a Town Hall, built 1640. Woollen mittens and socks
tyrants.] are made. Andlau (south-west of Barr) among
St. Pilt (Station)-31 miles—is the nearest vine-covered hills, is another pretty spot, near
station for Königsburg castle, and also Frankenburg, Hohen-Andlau Castle, a conspicuous ruin, on a hill, another picturesque ruin, burnt 1582. It belonged once the seat of a very old Alsatian family. Here
to the bishops of Strassburg. was an abbey, founded by the wife of the Emperor Rappoltsweiler (Station) — 2} miles-or Charles the Fat.
Ribeauville (Hotels: Lamm; de Nancy), among Kogenheim (Station)-34 miles-on the Ill. vineyards, under the heights covered by the old “Heim," in these names is literally “home." Castles of Rappoltstein, Girsberg, and St. Ulrich.
St. Gregoire's church has several ancient tombs; Ebersheim (Station)—2 miles-has a buffet,
the Town Hall is good. Population, 6,000. In the and a conveyance to Dambach, near Bernstein castle. Towards the Rhine are the throe slender neighbourhood are remains of the chapel, Notre
Dame of Dusenbach, and a famous cyclopean wall towers of Ebermünster church, whose abbey was founded in the seventh century. It has some very
(on the sides of the Vosges), called the Heidenold frescoes and wood carving.
mauer, or Heathen's wall. The vast blocks of
which it was composed are traced for 5 or 6 miles. Schlettstadt (Station)-41 miles on the Ill,
Near Baroche, to the south, is Hohenach Castia a town of 9,800 population, and an old free
the tower of which commands one of the most city of the Empire, called Electus, by the Romans;
beautiful views in this interesting country. rebuilt 1216, taken by Louis XIV., 1673, and forti
[At 18 kil. east-south-east, is fied by Vauban. It capitulated to the Germans 24th October, 1870. The chief buildings are St. George's
Marcholsheim, near the Rhine, with bleachGothic Church of the fourteenth century, with a
ground and tobacco factories. Population, 2,600.] square tower, 187 feet high; the Recollets' church; Ostheim (Station), 2 miles. Population, 1,700. public library, with some early printed books; the [At REICHENWEIER (7 miles west), among vinecollege at the old commandery of Malta, near the yards, on the Sempach, is the old castle of ReichenRound Church of St. Foi, built 1094, by a crusader, stein, dismantled 1209. A little south of it, on the on the plan of the Holy Sepulchre; the arsenal; | Weiss, is the old imperial Castle of Kaisersbers. the old fausse porte or belfry tower, in the Gothic built in the thirteenth century, by Fredk. Barstyle; new corn market and tobacco factory.barossa, whose statue is in the village. The ruins Martin Bucer (or Kulborn), was a native. The Fof Alspach Abbey are near this; and higher ap th
stream are the fine ruins of Hohenlandsberg, and In the neighbourhood, are the large factories Plixburg.)
of MM. Hauseman, Hersog, &c. At Munster Bennweier (Station), 2. miles. Coaches to (station,) 11 m. by rail to the west-south-west), Tigolsheim, Kintzheim, Kaisersberg, Orbey, La in the busy valley of that name, is Hartmann's Poutroye. Orbey is under a mountain, on which | large cotton factory, near the castle of Schwarare the White and Black Lakes; each about 3 miles zenburg. Generals Rapp, and Rewbel, who was in circuit. White Lake, shut in by granite walls,
one of the Directory, were natives of Münster. is the source of the Weiss. Hereabouts is the Münster had an abbey, the last head of which highest part of the Vosges chain.
embraced Protestantism, in 1536. At 2 miles further is
In this quarter are Winzenheim, under Hoh
enlandsberg Castle; and Türkheim, once an imCOLMAR (Station).
perial fief, now noted for its red wines. Here A buffet. 39 miles from Strassburg; 46} from Turenne gained a victory over the Imperialists, Basle.
1675, with the assistance of English troops, lent Hotels: Des Deux Clefs; Schwarzes Lamm; by Charles II. Von Briesen.
Colmar has large manufactures of cotton, linens, Population, 26,100. Chief town of late depart- ribbons, powder, &c.; and a trade in wine, grain, ment Haut-Rhin, in a fine plain half-way between
&c. Conveyances by branch rails to Münster (as the Vosges and the river Rhine, or the river Lauch,
above) to Breisach, thence to Freiburg and the 1) mile from the Ill. It is not far from the site
Black Forest, &c. A road and rail lead down to of the Roman Argentovaria; it was an imperial a disused custom-house and ferry on the Rhine free city, given up to France by the treaty of
near Fort Mortier, and the citadel of Neu Westphalia, 1648, when the fortifications were
Breisach, built by Vauban on the Rhine canal, and razed ; and is now re-annexed to Germany. There
taken by the Germans 10th November, 1870. are three gates, many narrow streets and old
From Colmar, on the way to Bâle, you pass houses; good walks on the Champ de Mars, where a Fountain was erected, 1857, to Admiral Bruat, Egisheim (Station)-58 miles-which has a and the cemetery of Horburg (2 kil. off). It is strong six-sided tower left of an ancient Castle, watered by the branches of the river and the the birth-place of Leo IX. Population, 2,130. canals of the Fecht.
Here also are the Drei Exen, or three towers of
another Castle which belonged to the imperial The Minster, built 1363, is a large Gothic build
house. ing with a tower about 300 (?) feet high, and an
Herlisheim (Station), 14 mile. A modern altar-piece on wood, by Schöngauer. Its tower commands a view of above 800 places in Alsace and
château on the site of the old castle-once a nest Baden, &c. The Jesuit church was built, 1750;
of robbers. The ancient church of Geberscbweier the fine nave of the Dominican church contains is seen beyond this station. It has a Norman a Museum of Pictures, with the Monument of
tower with pent-house roof. Schongauer, the artist; the Library contains Rufach (Station) -4 miles (Bär) – on the 40,000 vols., besides rare MSS., ; the old Protest- Lauch, with an old Gothic church and remains ant church is a store-house.
of Isenbourg castle, a seat of the Merovingian Other objects of notice are the ancient Town kings. Marshal Lefebvre was born here. At House, now the Governor's house, in which is to Judenfeld, many Jews were executed; and they be seen the head (as well as the sword which say that no Jew will live there to this day. Popucut it off) of Hagenbach, Charles the Bold's
lation, 3,630. Coach to Soultzmatt. governor, who figures in "Anne of Geierstein;" Merxheim (Station)-3 miles-to the souththe Hospital; Monument to Marshal Rapp; the west of which is the Gebweiler Belchen or Ballon vast Prison ; large cavalry Bartaoks ; and public de Gebweiler, the highest of the Vosges range slaughter-house.
(4,700 feet above the level of the sea).
Bollweiler (Station) -41 mlles-In a wine Sierentz (Station), 71 miles. district. Coach to SULTZ (population, 4,000, and Bartenheim (Station), 14 miles. a handsome spire church), and Branch Rail to St. Ludwig, or Louis (Station)-5 miles-on Gebweller, another spinning place, which has the Swiss Frontier, where baggage is searched. (near some abbey ruins) a fine Norman church with [ A loop line to Bale, via Leopoldshöhe, goes three spires. Here the ascent to the Ballon may past Huningen (Station), on the Rhine; which be made (the view takes in part of Switzerland), had, on a rock, one of Vauban's fortresses before descending to the interesting valley of St. Amarin 1815, when it was taken by the Austrians. It (in which are a castle, a large factory for cotton contains a good church, barracks, and an institution prints, &c.), and to a way to Thann.
for pisci-culture, worth visiting. Population, 2,000]. Wittelsheim (Station), 8} miles.
At 2 miles further is Lutterbach (Station)_4} miles where the BASLE (Station), in SWITZERLAND (see Bradbranch to Thann and Wesserling turns off, as shaw's Hand-Book to Switzerland). below.
From Lutterbach, as above, a Branch Rail Dornach (Station), 1 mile. Here is the large of 17 miles goes off past factory of Dollfus & Co. Population, 3,000.
Cernay (4} miles), a pretty spot (population, MÜLHAUSEN or MULHOUSE, (Station), 4,000), near the sterile tract of Ochsenfeld, to 69 miles from Strassburg, 304 from Paris (via the Thann (Station)-31 miles—Hotels : Kaiser; new route through Belfort, Troyes, &c.) There is Zwei Schüssel. A town of 7,500 cotton printers, a buffet at the station.
&c., on the Thur, at the entrance of St. Amarin's Hotels: Central; Wagner; Nord; de Rome; valley, with remains of Engelburg Castle on a des Etrangers.
hill. It contains several ancient houses, and St. A town of 69,675 souls, and a great seat of Thibault's fine Church, with a sculptured west manufactures, such as cotton prints, turkey red, door-way, and a steeple 328 feet high, built 1516. woollens, worsteds, muslins, yarn, silk, steam Vin de Rang is produced here. Wesserling engines, spinning machines, locomotives, &c. It (Station), a new town, in an interesting neighwas an imperial city from 1268 till 1515, when it bourhood, is 9 miles further. became a Swiss republic; was joined to France,
ROUTE 35. 1798, and is now annexed to Germany. It stands partly on an island of the Ill, and on the Rhine Metz to Forbach and Mannheim. and Rhône canal, and is generally well built, with For the first part of this Route from Nancy, some old houses. The new quarter was begun see Bradshaw's Hand-Book to France, 1828. There are Catholic and Reformed churches,
METZ (Station), & synagogue; Rathhaus, the oldest of its public 25 miles from Nancy, 100 miles from Mannheim. buildings; college, hospital: cabinets of natural POPULATION, 54,070. history, and library at the Société Industrielle; Hotels : Grand Hotel de Metz, an excellent hotel, various public walks, à chamber of commerce, combining comfort with reasonable prices. and many factories, one of the largest and oldest Grand Hotel de l'Europe, well situated and being that of Köchlin Brothers.
Here are many
moderate. hundred Model Workmen's Dwellings on a good De Paris, &c. plan, with a garden to each. Railways to Belfort The Buffet at the station, wbich is half a mile 30 miles, and to Neuenburg and Müllheim 14 from the town, is good. Omnibuses and other miles.
vehicles convey passengers to the hotels. [Ottmarsheim (15 kil.), near Müllheim Rail, Chief town of German Lorraine (late departon the Rhine, has a remarkable Church, eight-sided, ment Moselle), a first-class fortress, head-quarters and believed to be part of a Lombard Basilica). of a military division, seat of a bishopric, &c.,
Rixheim (Station)—3 miles—which has large in a flattish spot on a bend of the Moselle, manufactures of paper hangings. Population, 2,970. where the Seille, joing it at the old three-arch
bridge of Pont des Bas Grilles. It was the capital | by as many as seventeen Bridges—as the Pont des of the Mediomatrici in Roman times (whence | Morts, &c., some being very short and old-fashioned, comes the present name), and of Austrasie under with water-mills upon them. Place Royale, Clovis. Afterwards it was held sometimes by the Place de la Comédie, and Place Mazelle, are the French and sometimes by the German Emperors; best squares. In Rue de la Bibliothèque is the old was annexed to France in spite of a long siege by Church of the Trinity, now the Protestant Temple. Charles V., in 1522, and strongly fortified with Most of the streets are narrow and dirty; the works by Vauban and Cormontaigne, including houses are chiefly of stone, two or three storeys the Double Couronne, and Belle Croix (now Stein- high, and some are curiously carved, especially in metz) Forts, built 1728-31. One of its nine Gates, Place St. Louis. Porte St. Thiébaut, leads on to the Esplanade, near The noble Cathedral, in Place d'Armes, with its the Citadel, which is laid out with walks and trees, flying buttresses, &c., was begun in 1014, by Bishop and commands a fine prospect of the river and Thierri, but not finished till 1546. It is pierced country. Here are a barrack and a statue of Ney. with a great number of windows—many beautifully
In the Franco-German war of 1870-71, Metz made stained, by Busch, 1526. Its length is 398 feet; an important figure. The Emperor Napoleon ar
width of nave 51 feet (of the transepts, 46 feet); rived here 28th July, issued a proclamation to his
the two side chapels of the choir are 53 feet by 50;
while the Gothic spire, built in 1427, is about as army, and marched to the frontier, where Saarbrück was taken 2nd August, in presence of the high as the church is long, 387ft., and contains
an Prince Imperial. Mac Mahon being defeated at
immense bell, called La Mutte, weighing Weissenburg and Woerth, the French, under Baz
about 28,600 lbs. The very old font is called Cuve
de César (Cæsar's Tub). Several councils were aine, retreated towards Metz and Chalons, pursued
held here between 590 and 1280. by the Germans, who obtained two great vic
The Churches of St. Vincent and St. Eucharius tories on the 16th August, at Mars-la-Tour,
are of old date, That of St. Martin offers a variety or Vionville, and on 18th, at Gravelotte, or Rezon
of styles, from the earliest down to that of ville, all places within a few miles of Metz. At
the sixteenth century. One of the Knights Rezonville is a cottage where the Emperor slept
Templars' Round Churches is in the large at the battle, and which was visited by him, 1879. Finding it impossible to cut through the German Arsenal, which contains a stand of arms and a
famous bronze culverin, taken at Ehrenbreitstein, forces, Bazaine retired into Metz, which was com
154 feet long, 17 inches wide at the muzzle; it pletely invested by 23rd August. At St. Barbe and
weighs 28,717 lbs., and the shot is 1764 lbs. It was Noisseville, on 31st August, the French for a time
once part of St. Arnold's abbey, and has a military drove the Germans back. On 1st September (the library of 10,000 vols., besides charts, maps, and day before Sedan), Bazaine was repulsed in a great
MS. treatises. The School of Artillery, now & sortie; and again on the 7th October. Finally he
barrack, is a handsome building, completed in capitulated on the 27th October, when three mar
1852. There are also extensive magazines (that shals (Bazaine, Canrobert, and Lebeuf), with
for bedding is the Abbey of Clement, built in the thousands of officers, and 173,000 men (20,000 being
sixteenth century by an Italian architect): and a sick and wounded) laid down their arms and were
military bospital—the latter an immense building, transported as prisoners to Germany. The German
begun by Louis XV., large enough for 1,800 forces entered the town 31st October; and it is now patients. The Justiz Palast, or Law Court (once annexed to the Rhine Provinces by treaty of
the Hôtel de l'Intendance, begun, it is said, by a Duke 1st March, 1871. A semi-circular connecting line
of Suffolk), is an extensive structure, near the of rail was made by the Germans during the Esplanade and the river. The Museum contains investment; and the eight surrounding Ports have
pictures, coins, and antiquities, and the Public beer strengthened and multiplied.
Library 30,000 volumes (many of them early printed Several quays line the rivers which are crossed I books) besides 800 MSS. The Town House, a
simple but good building, was finished 1771, from Courcelles (Station)-8 miles
or Courcellesthe designs of Blondel. It has some portraits. less-Chaussy, on the Nied. Here the Germans won Other buildings are the Governor's House, the the battle of Pange, 14th August, 1870. Branch of Mint; the college, and priests' seminary, both
18 miles to Teterchen. large edifices; and theatre. The large covered Remilly (Station)–5 miles—has a pinnacled Market was begun for the archbishop's palace in church. Here the line to Saarburg, 40 miles, goes 1785. Near the Moyen Pont is part of an old tower, off viâ Mörchingen and Nebiogen. Pass close to the Fontaine des Pucelles.
Herný to For a long time Metz has been one of the chief Falkenberg (Station)- 114 miles-or Falqueseats of the Jews, who have had a rabbi and a mont, in French (Falcon's Hill), was once the head rabbinical school here. The Romans constructed of a marquisate. an amphitheatre and a naumachia (for sea fights) St. Avold (Station)-6} miles- a pretty little here, but the traces are almost gone. An aqueduct place, population 3,600, under the Bliesberg, once a went out to the south-west, of which several arches fortified post of Lorraine; with some mineral remain at Jouey (5 miles) on the Moselle, as men- springs, and cloth manufactures. The line crosses tioned above. Among its eminent natives are the Rosselle two or three times, and the neighMarshal Fabert, a noble-minded man, whose statue bouring ravines. is on Place d'Armes; Generals Kellerman, Custines, Beningen (Station)—4 miles. Here the rail and Lallemand; Bouchette, who was war minister from Saargemünd, Hagenau, and Strassburg under the Convention; Barbé Marbois, one of comes in. Napoleon's ministers; La Vaillant, the naturalist; Forbach (Station)-5 miles on the Prussian Raspail, the chemist; and Mademoiselle Tastu, frontier, with a custom house, and remains of a the poetess.
château fort on Schossberg hill, under which the Manufactures of leather, cotton, linen, woollen- town is built. Population, 7,200, who make pipes, cloth, muslin, nails, stained papers, &c.; trade in glass, and hardware. It was occupied by the these, and wines, eau-de-vie, excellent beer and Germans, 6th August, 1870, after their success at confitures, drugs, spices, &c.
Weissenburg. Rail to Saargemünd, Bitche, Rail to Verdun and Paris; to Nancy; to Saar
Niederbronn, and Hagenau (see page 179). burg and Strassburg; to Saarbrück; to Thionville
Saargemünd (Station), or Sarreguemines, (Diedenhofen), to Luxemburg, and Trèves. Omni- a town (population, 9,600) on the Saar, where the buses to the pretty village of Moulins. In the
line from Saarbrück and Saarburg falls in. It was
called Guemonde, and had a Capuchin convent, neighbourhood of Metz are also the rock of RocheRudotte, in the valley of Mance; the Château of founded by Duke Leopold, 1621, now turned into Montigny-les-Metz; the cascade on the Digue of a Town House, college, &c. It is noted for tabaWadrineau; with Gravelotte, &c., as above men
tières en carton (pasteboard snuff boxes), of which tioned.
thousands are sold; good pottery is also made.
Hotel: De Paris, [Etain (40 kil. west-north-west), on the Ornes, in the middle of the fertile plain of Voëvre, which
The glass works of St. Louis are near. The line belooged to St. Euchane's Abbey at Trèves, in the
to Saarburg, 33 miles, proceeds via Saar-Union seventh century, and was given up to the Duke of (Station) and Wolfskirchen (Station). Lorraine by the peace of Ryswick, 1697. It has
At 9 kil. beyond Forbach is a good Town House. About 18 kil. west-south- Saarbrücken (Station)-in Prussia-whence west of it is Verdun.]
there are lines to Mannheim, Heidelberg, Mayence From Metz, on the railway to Forbach and and Frankfort, and to Trèves. Hotels: Rheinhof; Saarbrück (towards Frankfort) you pass Peltre, Köhl; Korn. Population, 13,600. This place was which was for a time the head-quarters of the taken by the French, 2nd August, 1870, in présence allied powers in 1815, and was ruined 1870.
of the Emperor and his son, who here received his N