« ForrigeFortsæt »
The mountains are partly covered with dark fir | they are not known as the Danube until after this trees, and every object has an Alpine appearance. junction, and but for the stream of the castle Other great attractions at Triberg are the singu- garden, they would, despite the length of their lar costumes of the peasantry, and their peculiar course, possibly be liable to be exhausted: the dwellings with stables underneath.
claim of this basin to be called the source of Sommerau (Station), the summit one on the
the Danube is, however, somewhat obscure. line, towards which it ascends like a corkscrew. The country for miles around Donaueschingen Many travellers get out here, and return on foot, is moist and marshy, the seat of innumerable diverging here and thero.
springs, all flowing to the Danube. At Hülfingen, St. Georgen-Inns: Adler; Hirsch. The only
about a mile from this place, the road crosses the object worth notice is the old Benedictine Abbey, Brege, which, a mile further down, is joined by burnt by the Duke of Würtemberg, because the
the Brigach, and the united streams form the
Danube. monks professed the Lutheran doctrine, but another was soon erected, and the ruins of Hence to Constance by rail, winding round by the old one preserved. From here the road inclines Geisingen (Station) and Engen (Station)-to a descent until we reach rail again at
remarkable as the spot whence the Austrians were vulingen (Station)—Inns: Blume; Lilie; 7,000 men. The height of Hohenhöwen, an extinct
defeated by Moreau in 1800, both sides losing Falke; Bär; Deutcher Kaiser.--Asmall town.
volcano, was occupied by the Austrians, who were Population, 6,110. Here lives Christian Martin,
driven from it by the French. At Singen (Station) the celebrated clockmaker, whose last production,
the line to Schaffhausen (12} miles) parts off. completed in 1887, is said to excel even the elaborate marvel of Strasburg Cathedral, and the
From Donaueschingen, the direct road to Schaffwonderful processional clock of the Tower at
hausen leads through a bare and open country in Berne. Near Schweningen, 4 miles east of this
the midst of which we see to the left the ruined place, is the source of the Neckar. We are now
castle of Fürstenberg. We pass the small village in a country that can fairly be called cascade land,
of Riedböhringen and Blumberg, a miserable post so plentifully does it abound in fountains and
house. The ascent and descent of the Rande, a very waterfalls; the reservoirs of the Black Forest feed steep hill, occupies this stage. A magnificent view the two principal rivers in Europe, the Rhine and
can be enjoyed from the summit of the hill, the spot Danube. The two extremities of a Continent
near the wooden cross. On the left we see the receive the melted snow-flakes of its ridges, mountains and extinct volcanoes known as the and in many instances the water-drip of one side
Hohenstoffeln, Hohenkrähe, and Hohentwieil, and of its houses finds its way to the German Ocean,
in the same direction the lake of Constance unand of the other to the Black Sea.
folds its charms to the eyes, whilst the towers
of Constance and the snow-capped hills of SwitzDonaueschingen (Station)-Inns: Schütze;
erland add beautifully to the background of the Falke., The capital of the principality of Baar, picture. Midway down is the Custom House of once the property of the Prince of Fürstenberg, a
the Baden frontier. Just beyond, the road enters mediatised prince, whose Palace is the principal
Switzerland, and passes through a valley to building of the town, which contains 3,500 inhabitants. Collections of pictures, minerals, arms, books
Schaffhausen (Station).—Population, 11,800. (80,000 volumes), prints, &c., at the new Karls
Hotels :- In the town-Krone; Rheinischer Hof; bau. In the garden of the palace is the Source
Müller's Hotel; Riese; Post; Schwan; Tanne; of the Danube, a circular basin of clear sparkling
Railway Rest. water, conducted through a channel under ground At the Fall, near Neuhausen (Station)-Hotel for about fifty yards into the Brigach, from this Schweizerhof, first-class, highly recommended ; spot called the Danube. Though the two upper Hotel du Château de Laufen; Belle Vue; Rheinfall. streams, the Brege and the Brigach, are long, yet Steamers daily to Constançe,
For the Falls of the Rhine, &c., see Bradshaw's, high, which date from the 13th century. The Hand-Book to Switzerland.
platform of the steeple affords a delightful and The rail to Constance which crosses the Baden extensive view of the distant shores of Suabia and frontier, repasses
the Vorarlberg, behind which are seen on one side Singen (Station.)-Inns: Krone; Ekkerhard. the mountains and the seven hills of Graubünden, Here we pass the Hohentwiel, formerly a famous and on the other the chain of the Appenzell. old castle, and later a mountain fortress of the late Circular arches in the Romanesque style flank Dukes of Württemberg, which, however, is now the nave, in the centre of which, close to the dismantled and standing in ruins on a lofty rock. pulpit, a stone attracts your attention. That is Radolfzell (Station)-Inns: Schiff; Sonne
the spot on which the martyred Huss stood where the line from Ulm comes in. The town is
when receiving sentence of death by the state situated at the end of the extreme branch of the
from the wretched men who constituted themselves lake of Constance, known as the “Unter See,"
his judges. A remarkable tomb of English brass and has walls and gates. It contains a very fine
stands in front of the grand altar. Beneath it lie old Church, in the German Gothic style.
interred the mortal remains of Robert Hallam, Petershausen-situated on the right bank of Bishop of Salisbury, who attended the council the Rhine, which here from a lake becomes a river,
with a deputation from the English church. He was under the Empire a free abbey. Crossing the
is represented as wearing the order of the Garter. Rhine near a wooden bridge we reach
The stalls of the choir will deeply interest the CONSTANCE (Station), the German Con-visitor, who cannot fail to be delighted with the stanz, in Baden territory.--Inns:
exquisite carvings ornamenting them. The Death Constanzerhof, on the Lake, in a fine situation. of the Virgin, represented by life-like figures, in Insel Hotel, on the Lake; formerly a Convent. the north transept, is worth inspection, as also the
Hotel Halm; Badischer Hof; Hecht; Krone; beautiful tracery work of the still existing sides Schiff; Falke.
of the ancient cloisters. A circus-like building is It is situated at the north-west extremity of seen in one of their angles, and in its centre a the Bodensee,or Lake of Constance, on the left bank round room, in the Gothic style, containing a numof the river, on the site of the Roman Constantia of
ber of curiously devised scriptural figures. It is the commencement of the fourth century. It was used for the commemoration services of the Passion, considerably improved after the middle of the sixth
on Good Friday. In the sacristy are some very century; and flourished as a free imperial town
curious relics, Brabant lace, and a beautiful in its trade and manufactures throughout the mantelpiece. The cupboards or presses in the middle ages. It is dull and monotonous, but the
upper vestry-room will attract notice. deep interest attached to its historical traditions cannot fail to make it an agreeable sojourn of a
The Dominican Convent, now the Insel Hotel,
stands upon a little island, once a Roman fortificaday or two. It formerly contained 40,000 inhabitants, but has, at the present time, a population of
tion. In it is shown the spot where stood Huss's not more than 13,000. It has, however, begun to
dungeon, now removed to the Kaufhaus. Tho improve lately, and the government have formed church, chapter house, and cloisters, form very a port on the lake, which, whilst adorning the picturesque ruins. town, is also useful for the purposes of extending
The Hall of the Kaufhaus will be ever memorablo and promoting prosperity and trade in all the
as the place within whose portals was held the departments of their industrial pursuits and ener
famons Council of Constance, in 1414-18, consisting gies. It has been formed at considerable cost.
of thirty princes and cardinals, four patriarchs, The Minster is a Gothic structure erected in 20 archbishops, 150 bishops, 200 doctors of divinity, 1052, re-built in is present form early in the 16th and a host of other secular and clerical dignitaries, century, except the sixteen columns that support The readers of history are familiar with the acts the nave, each bewp out of a single bļoçk, 18 feet l of this council, which deposed the infamous John
XXIII. and Benedict XIII., electing Martin V., Lindau, by which it is brought into communicainstead. No time can ever obliterate, nor blot out tion with Munich and the rest of Germany. its infamy and horrible cruelty in sending to the
The northern banks of the lake are flat; but the stake Jerome of Prague and John Huss. Their
southern side presents a series of picturesque unprincipled and treacherous seizure and barbarous viows, having the mountains of Appenzell and murder will ever remain as incentives to execrate
St. Gall, together with those of the Tyrol, in the and detest the memories and principles of the
background. civil and ecclesiastical monsters who sent them to
Excursions can be made from here to Reichenau, the faggot, and condemned them to torture.
situated in the broad part of the Rhine, and famed The curiosities of the Hall are the chairs in for its monastery, founded by Charlemagne; which sat the emperor and pope, Huss's Bible, a and to Mainan, 4 miles north, famous as being model of his dungeon, the car on which he was once the seat of the commandery of the knights of drawn to execution, the figure of Abraham, that the Teutonic order. It is approached by a wooden supported the pulpit in the minster, and other relics footbridge, which connects it with the shore. of the council. Council Chamber, 20pf. ; Indian From the terrace of the garden surrounding the and Chinese Curiosities, 40pf.
house in which the commandery dwelt, some The house in which Huss had apartments is
delightful views may be had. seen in the Paul's Strasse, near the Schnetzthor.
Steamers to all the ports of the lake-Rorschach, It has affixed to it a memorial tablet, with effigy. Friedrichshafen, Lindau, Bregenz, &c., on the lines He was imprisoned first in the Franciscan Convent, to Germany, Tyrol, and East Switzerland. but was soon conveyed to the stone dungeon in the Dominican convent. In the suburb of Brühl, out.
ROUTE 32. side the town, is the field in which he suffered
Freiburg to Schaffhausen. death with heroic fortitude. The spot is shown where the stake was placed, and earthen images of
By the Höllenthal. Huss and Jerome are offered for sale.
Distance, 57 English miles. Eilwagen daily
direct in eleven hours. There is now a railway In the Rosgarten Museum is a fine collection of
up the Höllenthal, which may be taken to save local antiquities, prehistoric remains from the lake dwellings, and natural history; admission,
time, if that should be an object. 40pf.
The route at first passes through the Dreisam
thal-which presents the appearance, at its openIn Constance was negotiated the treaty of peace
ing, of a flat and fertile plain, enclosed amid between the Swiss confederation and Sigismund, of
sloping and sylvan hills—to the Himmelreich Austria, and signed at Aarberg, in July, 1415. The
(Kingdom of Heaven). Nearing the ascent, its house behind the Hotel Hecht, with the beautiful original width becomes slowly contracted; and Gothic window, is that where the emperor lodged.
at the imposing Höllenthal (i.e., Valley of Hell), The treaty of Pressburg, in 1815, transferred Con
assumes a magnificently beautiful aspect of stance from Austria to Baden, and since 1802 it
romantic grandeur. Its woods, rich in foliage, has ceased to be an Episcopal see.
cover the steep sides, from which project The navigation of Lake Constance is accom- sharpened fragments of rock, rugged and naked, plished by seven or eight steamers, which keep having running at their base the Dreisam. The up a communication several times a day with the
scenery here will impress the mind of the tourist principal places upon its banks. The traffic upon
as partaking of a majestic wildness, blended this lake has received a considerable impetus from
with a picturesque beauty; Steig and Hirschthe formation of a port at Friedrichshafen, the
sprung are the spots most remarkable for the southern terminus of the Württemberg railway;
exbibition of this wild and rugged grandeur. and by the completion of the Bavarian railway to Before reaching the Himmelrelch we pass
Burg, remarkable from the fact that, in 1796, | Colmar, Muhlhausen; and nearly follows tho Moreau here accomplished a retreat with his army. course of the Seille and the crest of the Vosges Ninety-four years previons to this, Marshal Villars mountains. was deterred from attempting this pass, saying
ROUTE 33. that he was not dare-devil enough. After passing the Kirschspring we come to the Stern Inn, a
From Avricourt to Strassburg. diligence station, and ascend the Höllensteig to
(Paris and Strassburg Railway.) Steig, or Oberhöllsteig, where, at the Weisses Rössle, is good accommodation, on reasonable
.For the first part of this line up to Emberterms. Here a steep slope of the road leads the ménil, near the German frontier, see Bradshaw's
Hand-book to France. tourist out of the Höllenthal, and leaving it, he parts with the most striking scenery. From here,
Avricourt (Station), near the head of the in good weather and with a guide, up the Feldberg, Vezouze, under the Vosges range, has a ruined 4,900 feet. The Titi See, close by, should also be castle, and gave birth to Regnier, Duke of Massa. visited. Passing Lenzkirch and Bonndorf (19 | French Douane. Then Deutsch-Avricourt; miles from which is the magnificent Benedictine German Douane. Through a forest, to Abbey of St. Blaize), we arrive at the top of the
Hemingen (Station) – 84 miles -- where the ascent, from whence may be had a magnificent
northern road from Nancy falls in. view of the Lake of Constance. Close by is the castle of Hohenlupfen; and a little further on,
Saarburg—5 miles—(De l'Abondance), a town after passing Stühlingen, we cross a stream, and
of 2,600 souls, and military post on the Saar, in Gerjourneying on a distance of 11} miles arrive at
man Lorraine, in a pass of the Vosges, divided into Schaffhausen and its Falls. See Brad-Upper and Lower Town. In the former, German shaw's Hand-Book to Switzerland. We now enter
is spoken, in the latter, French. It belonged to Switzerland, famous for her mountain strong
the Archbishops of Metz and Dukes of Lorraine, holds.
came to France 1661, and back to Germany 1871. The palaces of nature, whose vast walls,
Most of it was rebuilt after the fire of 1461. It was Have pinnacled in clouds their snowy scalp
the Pons Sarave of Roman geographers, and coins And throned Eternity in icy halls Of cold sublimity, where forms and falls
have been found. The Leuk here joins the Saar, The ayalanche-the thunderbolt of snow! All that expands the spirit, yet appals,
and forms a cascade. Rails to Metz (54 miles, Gathers around the summit as to sbow
page 175), Saargemünd, &c.
The rail now traverses the Vosges mountains by [Freiburg to Schaffhausen, a pleasant two days' a series of tunnels, the first of which is Hommarjourney on foot.-R. S. C.]
tingen, about 14 mile, the greatest work of the kind
on the line. It enters the mountains to the left of ROUTES IN THE CEDED DISTRICTS OF the Marne and Rhine Canal, on a level with it, LORRAINE AND ALSACE.
but comes out to the right of it, and 39 feet lower, (Called Lothringen and Elsass, in German; having passed by an incline under the canal. It on the west bank of the Rhine, now annexed to
then crosses the rocky gorge of the Zorn (which Germany.)
the canal passes on an aqueduct), to a second The districts ceded under the Franco-German
tunnel of 804 fcot. treaty, ratified 2nd March, 1871, include the depart
Lützelburg (Station)-104 miles. Hotels : ments of Haut and Bas-Rhin, comprising Alsace,
Zur Eisenbahn; Storch. With a ruined castle, Moselle, or East Lorraine, and part of Meurthe,
near the summit of the Vosges. Coach to Phalswith a total popuulation, in 1886, of 1,564,000, bourg. and an area of 6,250 English square miles. The [PHALSBOURG or PFALZBURG (4 miles northnew boundary takes in Metz, Thionville, Strass- north-east), a fortification on a rock, where burg (the capital of the new German province), | English prisoners were kept in the war.
citadel, built by Vauban to command a pass of the Past Dettweiler, lower dowu the Zorn, to Vosges, capitulated to the Germans 12th Decem- Hochfelden (Station)-7} miles. ber, 1870. The fortifications were demolished Pass Mommenheim-34 miles-on the plain of in 1872. It was called Einartyhausen, before Alsace, to 1570, when the Prince Palatine of Velden rebuilt Brumath (Station)-6 miles-where the rail it under its modern name; it came afterwards turns off from the Zorn. It is the ancient Brocoma. to the house of Lorraine. Part of the palace is gus, and is near the foundling hospital of Stephansseen; besides a Town Hall of the time of Louis felden, founded 1220. Here the Austrians were XIV., &c.
defeated, 1793. Marshal Lobau, General Gérard, &c., were born Vendenheim (Station)-44 miles-where the here. Excellent noyau is made. Population, 4,900. Branch line to Weissenburg turns off. About 57
M. Erckmann, with M. Chatrian, joint authors of miles further is the Conscript, Waterloo, The Plebescite, &c., were STRASSBURG (Station), 312} miles from both born here.]
Paris. See Route 27. Four more tunnels succeed, respectively 1,417, 1,296, 1,640, and 1,009 feet in length. You catch
ROUTE 34. glimpses of various feudal towers and ruined castles crowning the tops of the mountain ranges,
Strassburg to Mühlhausen, Basle, &c. among wbich the Hohe Barr and Gross Geroldseck Up the Rhine by railway. Distance, 141 kil, or are the most picturesque.
89 miles; 3 to 5 hours. Terminus, near Porte de Zabern or Saverne (Station)-51 miles- Saverne. down the east slope of the Vosges (towards the The railway passes up the valley of the Ill, Rhine), in a charming spot on the Zorn, is a which receives innumerable streams from the town in Alsace (late department Bas-Rhin), having Vosges mountains to the west. The new out6,400 souls, and belonged to the bishops of Strass. works of the fortifications of Strassburg (to the burg, whose old castle here is now a barrack. The right-Forts Bismarck and Kronprinz von Sachsen; church has a high square tower. Copper goods to the left-Forts von Werder and von der Tann) are made. Museum of local antiquities.
form very conspicuous objects. Hotels : Ambruster; Sonne; Zum Münchener Geispolsheim (Station)—7miles-on the Eger, Kindl; Karpfen.
once a fortress. Population, 8,220. Dachstein, 12 It is said to have taken its name from the old kil.off, on the Ill, was a fortress taken by Turenne, tabernæ, or resting places, distributed through the 1674. Further off are Molsheim and Mutzig, where valley. The hill at the top of the spiral road above they manufacture ribbons, fire-arms, &c. See the town commands a fine prospect of Alsace page 179. and Strassburg Minster. From here a rail, in con- Fegersheim (Station)-1 miles-near the Ill nection with the Great Luxemburg, is open and Andlau. Rosheim (15 kil. west), in a pretty through Alsace, to Mutzig (branches to Strassburg position on the Magel, is a walled town of 4,000 and Rottau), Schlettstadt (branch to St. Marie-aux- souls. Mines, or Markirch), Colmar (branches to Frei- Limersheim (Station), 2} miles. burg and Munster), Mühlhausen, and Bâle, about
Erstein (Station)-2} miles-Inn: Löwe, was 100 miles.
a fortress in the stormy times of the Empire, like [At 6 kil, south is MAURSMUNSTER, or MARMOU- most other places in this frontier land. Population, TIER, with an Abbey church of the tenth century.] 3,690. Coach to Obernay (12 kil. west-north-west), Steinburg (Station)-34 miles-on the Zorn.
which lies on the Andlau, above Niedernay, and is Branch rail of 8 miles to Buchsweiler, Pfaffen- ill built, with a population of 5,100 souls, who hofen, and Hagenau (page 179), past Neuweiler, make calicoes, &c. It has an old château, and a which has a seat built by the Duke of Feltre, on Gothic tower, called Kappelen Thurm. Further the site of Huneburg Castle,
up the Vosges you come to the Hochfeld and