« ForrigeFortsæt »
south of Charleroi to the French department | Sambre. On the right is seen the steeple of the of the Ardennes. The Sambre and Meuse Rail- church of Ham-sur-Sambre, and on the left that way, which commences at Marchiennes-au-Pont of Lemmepe. (as above), about a mile from Charleroi, traverses Moustier (Station) is then seen, and further it in its entire length, terminating on the Meuse, on to the left Mornsmerit; then a cutting, then near Givet.
again the Sambre, and always the Sambre, which The Sambre and Meuse present attractive fea- recedes, approaching and bending like a serpent, tures to the lovers of angling, the trout of the enfolds amorously the green hills, then retires, former and craw-fish of the latter being abundant coquette as she is, to wander about in a thousand and excellent. Bridges span both the rivers here. circuits, where the eye in vain strives to follow her. At two leagues distance from Charleroi, in the
The railroad next passes through a lovely wood, picturesque valley of the Sambre, are the ruins of
surrounded by forests; on the right, as far as the the Abbey d' Alne (already mentioned), the most eye can reach, rise a succession of hills, entirely ancient monastery perhaps in Europe, built in the wooded, which lower insensibly, and terminate in
front of us by a slight elevation, in which is situated The railway crosses the river Sambre many the village of Francères; on the left are the park times between Charleroi and Namur. The scenery and château of Loye, and looking across the is most charming. At Charleroi the line branches
viaduct the traveller may perceive the magnificent off, and leads to Walcourt, and having offshoots to buildings of the Abbey of Floreffe, situated midway Laneffe, Morialme, Philippeville, Chimay (on the
on the side of a hill higher than all those we have French border), and Florenne.
hitherto seen, and bristled here and there with the Charleroi to Namur.-Shortly after leaving points of rocks, which cut off by their aridity the the station, the village of Couillet, renowned for vigorous vegetation which surrounds them on all its metallurgic establishments, is passed; then sides. Montigny-sur-Sambre, the factories of which give
Floreffe (Station). The village gives evidence, employment to many workmen. Crossing the
in the immense church and the beauty of its abbey, Sambre, the elevated chimneys of
of the importance anciently attached to it by the Châtelineau (Station) are observable, near a Counts of Namur. It has 1,600 inhabitants. Crosbown celebrated for its earthenware, which is in sing the Sambre three times after leaving Floreffe, high estimation. Leaving Châtelineau the tra- the railroad
I passes Malenne, a celebrated abbey, the veller passes the beautiful château of Beaulieu, the beautiful steeple of which, erected in 1651, is seen gardens of which are much spoiled by the railway, between two hills towards the right. Passing and shortly arrives at
through a country somewhat varied and interestFarciennes (Station), near a pretty village of ing, the Sambre, in following the course of the 1,500 inhabitants, which has been literally cut in railroad, describes innumerable curves and turntwo by the railway passing through it. Throughings, and crossing a fine viaduct, reaches the a country rich, varied, and interesting,
station in Namur, situated outside the Porte-deTamines (Station) is next arrived at, close to Fer, which leads to Louvain. a village of little importance,-then Auvelais, a NAMUR (Station).-Hotels: pretty village, possessing nothing to interest the Hotel d'Harscamp, highly recommended; landtourist. Crossing the Sambre for the seventh lord, Mr. Hoogen. time since leaving Marchiennes, immediately after Hotel de Hollande, a very comfortable, good leaving Auvelais, the railroad enters vast cuttings, house; Hotel Belle Vue. made in enormous banks of schistus, curiously The capital of the province of Namur, at the disposed. Passing the hamlet of Grand Bois, and conflux of the Sambre and the Meuse, a well-built again crossing the Sambre, deep cuttings are city, with wide and clean streets. It contains a entered, on emerging from which are seen richly population (1873) of 26,030, who are chiefly emclad meadows, through which meanders the 'plo: in the cutlery business. It is defended by
& citadel built on the summit of a craggy rock. In addition to working these quarries the inHere are extensive manufactures of fire-arms, habitants of Namur are employed in the manuswords, knives, scissors, and other articles of iron, facture of cutlery, fire-arms, paper, glue, nails, copper, and brass. Quantities of leather, paper, hats, files, lace, serge, woollen stuffs, crockerythread, and tobacco are also prepared here. Namur ware, and all articles of iron, copper, bronze, has often changed masters, and is noted for the steel, and tin. many sieges which it has sustained. It is the The tan-yards, which were formerly an im. strongest fortress in Belgium. A statue of Leopold | portant branch of industry at Namur, are much I. was inaugurated, 1869. Owing to the destruction diminished in importance; but there are still inflicted during its numerous sieges, bombard- several remaining--as also numerous breweries, ments, &c., it has now but few objects of interest to and one glass house. The pit-coal, called houille, enlist the traveller's notice. Among the few still is found in the mountain on which the castle remaining is the
is built. Tobacco and endive are cultivated in Cathedral of St. Aubin, an elegant modern build
the neighbourhood of the town.
The streets of Namur are wide and well built, ing, in the Corinthian order, having a portico supported by twenty-five columns (the capitals of principally of blue stone, veined with red and
black. The river abounds in excellent fish, parwhich are elaborately ornamented), and surmounted by statues in white marble. In the interior
ticularly craw-fish, which are exported to every will be observed some fine paintings by Rubens, part of the kingdom. The singular sham-fights, and some remarkable monuments. On the right formerly carried on between the two parties of
young townsmen, mounted on stilts, were once a of the altar is a monument to the Bishop Pisani.
favourite diversion of the inhabitants, and to Here also is the mausoleum of Don John of Austria, the victor of Lepanto. The wooden palpit erected which, it is said the brewers of Namur owe the in 1848, from a plan by M. Geerts, deserves notice. exemption from excise, granted by Duke Albert.
They are now almost discontinued, but are still The figures carved on it are very fine.
occasionally to be seen during the Fairs, the prinThe Church of St. Loup, or the Jesuits' Church, cipal of which commences on the 2nd July, and is also a fine specimen of the ornamental style of lasts fifteen days: the others are but one day architecture. The roof is constructed of the stone each, viz., the second Monday in April, the of St. Hubert, brought from the Ardennes, in the second Saturday in July, and the first Saturday neighbourhood of Marche; and the wood of the
in October. confessionals is curiously and elaborately carved.
Within 3 miles of Namur is the curious The Château, remarkable for its siege of two Hermitage of Montagne, cut in the solid rock, by years, from 1256 to 1258. The Government House
a brotherhood of Carmelite Friars; and about two was formerly the Bishop's Palace, built in 1725,
miles to the north, in the arrondissement of by an Englishman named Strickland, who was
Philippeville, is the village of Vedrin, in which bishop of the diocese. The Citadel and Ramparts,
is a valuable lead mine, discovered in 1619; it is built on one of the mountains overhanging the
now worked by a powerful steam engine. This town, command varied and extensive views over
neighbourhood also affords a white sand, used in the fertile country watered by the Meuse. The
making glass. The walk to this village, as well town also contains several hospitals (the principal
as that of La Plante, which is about the same disof which is that founded by the Countess of tance, is delightfully picturesque. Harscamp, in 1812, for aged destitute persons of
ROUTE 9. both sexes), a public library, an athenæum, and a
Namur to Liége. theatre. In the neighbourhood of the town are Namur (Station), as in Route 8. immense quarries of free and lime stone, and also The railway station is situated near the buryingof black, red, and grey marble, susceptible of a ground, between the exterior fortifications and the very high polish.
hill of Pied-noir, in the space which extends from
the Brussels gate to the Iron gate, formerly Sam- rocks of Marche les Dames, whose greyish sides puris gate, one of the few remains of the last wall border the road, and proudly raise their wild built round the town in the beginning of the steep crags in the air. fifteenth century.
Marche les Dames (Station).—The Castleon Leaving the station the railway passes under
the road side is an erection of the present century, the hill of Pied-noir, and that of Coquelet, between
by the owner of some ironworks—it now belongs which ascends the high road leading to Louvain.
to the Prince Arenberg. The village is of regular After the doubling of the hill of Pied-noir, more
construction, and contains a pretty good number generally known by the name of the Windmill
of houses and forges. mount, the railway, leaving to the right the fortifications of the town, St. Nicholas's gate, and the
The village owes the first part of its name to
its situation on the confines of the ancient disneighbouring plantations, passes by the trees of the Grands-Malades (an old leper hospital), at the
trict of Namur (Marche, frontier limit), and the foot of steep hills, of which the rocky slopes
latter part, refers to the foundation of the Abbey,
which still attracts a number of visitors to conceal from sight the village of Bourges, by which they are crowned. At this point we see
Marche-les-Dames. An affecting tradition con
nects its origin with the first crusade. When in embedded in a rock the picturesque Hermitage of St. Hubert. The railway now approaches the
the reign of Albert III. the Namur crusaders set Meuse, and does not leave it until its arrival at
out for the Holy Land, such of their wives as were
unable to follow them, assembled in the rustic Liége. It crosses the first valley, running past some rocks of dazzling reflection, which close the
and lonely valley, of which the industry now
established there has not entirely destroyed the prospect on the left bank, and vanish towards a cluster of wees which shelter the white buildings
charms; they raised a modest chapel, in which, at the sign of the La Tête du Pré. The landscape praying for the deliverance of the Holy Sepulchre, is closed on the right bank, which the old road
they waited for the return of their husbands.
But out of the many warriors who had been to follows, by the heights of Erpent, at the top of which winds the road to Luxembourg; lower
seek for glory on the burning plains of Palestine, down, by the hill overhanging the gloomy Trou
very few, indeed, ever regained the green hills of
their native land. When the crusaders who had des Larrons, a famous cave, once so dreaded by escaped death returned to the banks of the Meuse, travellers ; and lastly, by the heights of Lives,
desolation reigned in the Valley of Nôtre Dame the sides of which are covered with blocks of
du Vivier, as it was then called. Most of those stone, presenting the fantastic appearance of a manor house, with its massive entrance flanked
wives learned that they were widows, and resolved
to end their days in the retreat which they had by two mouldering towers.
chosen, and young girls, whom the war had This first valley has beauties too numerous for made fatherless, joined them. An abbey was us to attempt to describe. It is followed by others
founded there, which, in three centuries afterin rapid succession, equally grand and beautiful.
wards, adopted the rule of St. Bernard. Every attempt to do so would appear cold and
Opposite here, on the right bank of the river, colourless compared with the impression produced
is the château of Brumagne, in a shady park; by the view, under the unceasing play of light and
and on the left bank, at a small distance, is the shade, by the splendid river, sprinkled here and
furnace of Hainiau. A little further on, as we there with verdant and graceful islands, a limpid enter the village of Namèche, against the extreme and azure path travelled over, hour after hour, point of a rocky chasm, we see a modern little by heavily laden trading boats, slender steamers,
Chapel, almost buried behind the embankment of with srunding and foaming paddles, and long
the railway. It is dedicated to St. Roch, and has, white plumes of smoke.
above its doors the following:Beyond Tête-du-Pré the railway passes by the
"SAINT ROCH VOUS AVEZ ELOIGNE LES MAUX DE CITE village of Bcoz, and soon reaches the beautiful