Billeder på siden
PDF
ePub

may be had.

ing a transition from the round to the pointed English Church Service on Sundays. style of architecture, situated in the Rue St. Ber- This city is strongly forțified, and forms, on the țin. Its east end is of a polygonal termination, northern frontiers of France, the central point of with projecting chapels. The interior of the defence. With a population of 155,000 inhabitants, church is in good preservation, and the small it is the seat of thriving industry and of busy Chapel of the Virgin has been lately redecorated.

manufacture, ranking as the seventh industrial At the extreme end of the street in which this

and commercial city of the new empire. The church is situated are to be seen the remains of

town is traversed by the waters of the Haute and the once famous Abbey of St. Bertin, formerly the Basse Deule, which fill its moats, and work the noblest Gothic building in French Flanders. The

mill machinery about. They are connected by a only fragment now remaining is a stately tower, canal, so arranged as to be able to inundate the noble even in its ruins, the mutilated panelling of

country for one and a half mile around the walls, its walls bespeaking the chaste and superior ele

if necessary. Though the city is spacious and its gance of its florid Gothic style of ornament. From

wealth very great, yet its monuments and buildings off the tower, which is propped by a rude buttress

are few and unimportant. of masonry, a fine panoramic view of the town

The Citadel is looked upon as a master specimen

of the skill of Vauban, who held the position of Thomas à Becket sought refuge in this

governor for many years. The Hotel de Ville is an once-famous abbey, when à fugitive from

erection of the 13th century, built by Jean SansEngland, and within its cloister were passed the

Peur, inhabited by Charles y., and was anciently last four years of his life. The monastery was

the palace of the Dukes of Burgundy. The buildsuppressed in 1792, but was spared by the Conven

ing is in the early Gothic style, and has in one of tion. The Directory was less considerate, and

its tourelles an exquisitely groined staircase and a under it the roof was taken off, the building stripped chapel. A school of art, containing an interesting of its fixtures and wood work, which were sold. and rich collection of drawings by the old masters, The work of destruction was completed a few occupies one division of the building. This years since by the local authorities, who had the

collection consists of 44 paintings by Raphael, walls taken down, in order to find work for some

some by Masaccio and Fra Bartolommeo, and a unemployed labourers!

few architectural designs by Michael Angelo. An It was here existed the celebrated Jesuits' Col- inspection of them will interest and gratify all lege; founded in 1596 by an English Jesuit, named lovers of the fine arts. Chevr Wicar bequeathed Parsons. In it were educated many of the con

them to the city. Though Sunday is the only spirators mixed up in the Gunpowder Plot, and

day on which there is a public admission, the some of the wild spirits who intrigued against housekeeper will not hesitate to admit persons Elizabeth. This college was succeeded by a

of respectability on other days. seminary, for British Roman Catholics, and in it

The Museum will scarcely repay à visit; it, was educated the famous agitator, the late Daniel | however, contains many curious old portraits of O'Connell.

the Dukes of Burgundy and of the Counts of English Church Service on Sundays.

Flanders, besides a painting by Rubens, and two Eblinghem (Station).

by Arnold de Vuez, a native artist, born in 1642, Hazebrouck (Station). From here a branch

and considerably eminent in his profession. The line leads to Dunkirk. Refreshments may be had.

former painting represents St. Catherine rescued The following unimportant stations are next from the wheel of martyrdom, and the two latter passed :--Strazeele, Bailleul, Steenwerck, are portraits of Saints Francis and Cecilia. Armentières, and Perenchies.

The chief church in Lille is that of St. Maurice, Lille (Station).-Hotels :

a Gothic building of the 16th century, resting on Hotel de l'Europe-the best in the town.

delicately light pillars, but presenting no appearParis; Nouveau Monde; Flandre; France; ance of general interest. The Rue Royale, a street Chemin de fer du Nord.

one mile long, should be visited, and the immensely large corn storos seen, as also the very fine houses | greets the traveller's eye here in the early part of the Rue Esquirmoise.

of each July, when a procession takes place called The suburbs af Lille for miles around, as well

Géant Gayant; a large osier giant, 30 feet high, as the entire Department du Nord, will strike

attired in armour, and accompanied by a family the traveller strongly resembling the districts of proportionate size, consisting of his wife and through Lancashire and the West Riding. On

children, perambulate the streets, accompanied all sides s heard the busy hum of industry, whilst by the populace. Eight men enclosed within this tall chimneys and numerous mills proclaim the giant fabric move it. Douai has been famed for its active and vigorous trade being carried on, form

college, founded by Cardinal Allen in 1569. In ing the rather novel combination of a fortress

it Roman Catholic priests for England and Ire

land have been educated. Daniel O'Connell also and a manufacturing town. Flax forms the staple manufacture, which is grown in and about studied here. A good trade in flax is carried on. the adjacent country. It is spun into ordinary Here the Northern of France Railway divides thread, and twisted into Lille thread. Cotton

into two branches, the one proceeding to join spinning is also carried on to a considerable ex

the Belgian Railways by Valenciennes; the other tent, and in its manufacture Lille has been a con

by Arras and Amiens to Paris. siderable rival to England. Its other branches of trade are the manufacture of sugar from beet

Montigny, Somain, Wallers, and Raismes root, the extraction of oils from colza and the Stations are passed previous to our arrival at seeds of rape, poppies, linseed, &c. Its other

Valenciennes (Station). objects of attraction are the Hospital, founded in

Hotels : Du Commerce; Des Princes; Du Mouton 1739, the Bridge, the Concert Hall, the Gaol, the

Blanc; De Moulin ; De Brussels; Des Flandre. Botanical Gardens, the Triumphal Arch, erected in 1782, in honour of Louis XIV., and the Column

Conveyances at the station, a quarter of a mile

distant from the town; there is a good Buffet here. raised in memory of the siege sustained by the city in 1792.

Population, 25,000. A place of considerable Railway to Douai and Paris; to Valenciennes,

trade and wealth, situated on the Great Northern Mons, and Brussels ; to Courtray, Ghent, and Railway; also strongly fortified by its position Brussels.

on the Scheldt, at its confluence with the Rhen

delle, by which it may be surrounded for threeLille to Brussels, by Douai and fourths of its circumference by water, retained Valenciennes. by means of sluices in the fortifications.

The Seclin, Carvin, and Leforest Stations, town is well built; the houses are generally of

brick and white stone. The Hôtel de Ville, in supplying places of no interest or importance, are passed efore arriving at

which the Gothic style is mingled with several

orders of architecture, will claim attention; it is Douai (Station).

highly decorated; the handsome façade is surHotels: Hotel De Flandre ; Du Commerce.

mounted by an attic, adorned with Caryatide Population, 23,600. The town is conveniently figures, representing the four seasons. The hospi. situated the river Scarpe, which

tal and the theatre are also remarkable. Many municates with the canal of Sense, and is agreeable promenades will be found--the Cours surrounded by fortifications, which the railway Bourbon, the Place-Verte, the Embankment twice crosses.

An old detached fort on the left between the city and the suburbs, the circuit of bank serves as a defence for the town, which the outer fortifications from the Mons Gate to the belongs to Department du Nord. It has a very Quesnoy Gate, the Faubourg Cambrai. From the picturesque belfry in the market-place, sur- Citadel the valley of the Scheldt is seen to advanmounting the Hôtel de Ville, a Gothic building tage. Froissart, the historian of the 14th century, of the 15th century, in which is the library, con- was born here. taining 30,000 vols. A rather curious spectacle VALENCIENNES TO BRUSSELS, sce above

on

com

Lille to Brussels, via Mouscron, Courtray, Burgundy carried away a celebrated clock, Ghent, and Malines.

considered at that time one of the wonders 931 English miles.

of the age, and the two figures (Jacquemart and Roubaix(Station). An industrious and manu

his wife) which struck the hours. The regularity facturing town, which has lately risen into great of the motions of these latter gave rise to a importance and still continues to increase in proverb which still exists in Courtray, when population and trade. Hotel: Frreaille. It has a

speaking of the love existing between a couplc, population of 75,987. Its staple trade is cotton “They agree like Jacquemart and his wife." It manufacture. Close to it, the English, under the

is still famous for its manufacture of table lir:en Duke of York, suffered a severe defeat from the

and other damask, with which it supplies all parts French, commanded by Pichegru, on May 18th,

of Europe. The surrounding country is noted for 1794. They lost in that sanguinary affray, 1,000

its growth of flax, with which it supplies, not killed, 2,000 prisoners, and 60 cannon.

only its own manufactories, but many of the Tourcoing (Station), 7} miles from Lille. A

markets of Europe. In the neighbourhood arc town with 43,322 inhabitants, no way remarkable | large and extensive bleaching-grounds. The flax in its general appearance, but famed for its manu- is steeped in the waters of the Lys, esteemed factures of table linen.

peculiarly favourable for bleaching purposes. Mouscron (station), in Belgium, 11 miles In a plain near Courtray was fought, on 1312, from Lille. The town is seen on an eminence to the the sanguinary battle of the Golden Spurs, between right, with its beautiful church built of bricks. the French troops, under the Count d'Artois, and Its chief importance arises from the fact of its the Flemish under John, Count of Namur, in being situated on the frontier. It is the chief place which the former were totally defeated, and the of its commune, and contains a population of 5,536 Count d'Artois and the Constable of France, tosouls. The country about is rich and well culti- gether with upwards of twelve hundred knights vated, producing wheat and rich pastures. Pass- and several thousand men, left dead on the field. ports and baggage are examined at this station. The battle derived its name from the immense Facing Mouscron, to the left, is the village of number (700) of the gilt spurs worn by the knights, Luingues. Here (junction of the railway from which fell into the hands of the victors. To the Tournay) a change of carriage and an examination right of the road is seen a small chapel, erected in of luggage takes place. Travellers for Brussels, 1831 to commemorate the event. It is outside the viâ Jurbise, also to Namur, should take especial Porte de Gand, and marks the centre of the battlecare and get into the proper train. From this field. station the railway proceeds on through a beauti- The public buildings and monuments of Courtray ful country, until its arrival at Courtray, on are not numerous. We will describe shortly the nearing which the country appears highly culti- principal. vated and picturesquely agreeable.

Hotel de Ville: the interior possesses two chimCourtray (Station)-In Flemish, Kortryck. neys, one placed in the police court or hall, the Hotel: D'Or.

other in the council room; their sculpture is of Population (1873), 26,641.

exquisite delicacy and highly finished, and worthy A fortified town, and the chief place of a of attention. judicial and administrative district of West Flan- Church of Saint Martin: this church was founded ders. It is situated on the Lys, which divides about the year 650 by Saint Eloi. It is remarkable it into two parts, securing to it a communication for the tower (one of the loftiest in Belgium) which with the principal towns in the north of France. surmounts the portico. There is a tabernacle in The streets are large, and finely built. Under the the interior most admirably sculptured, and a name of Cortoriacum it existed in the time of the

picture by Vleirick, a painter of the 16th century, Romans. The first cloths were made here in representing the “Descent of the Holy Spirit upon 1268, and two hundred years afterwards it the Apostles," and on the two wings, "The Sleep contained 6,000 weavers, In 1312, Philip of of Adam in Paradise," and "The Baptism of

Christ." There is another picture by Van Man- Leaving Courtray for Ghent, the railway runs deren, the historian and poet, representing "A parallel to the paved road, and shortly arrives at scene of Martyrdom at Rome." The rich ornaments made use of in Divine worship are worthy of place of a canton in the district of Courtray, con

Haerlebeke (Station). A commune and chief notice for the beautyof the chasing and engraving. taining a population of 4,486 souls. It was the

Notre Dame: this church is worthy of notice, oldest town in Flanders, and the residence of the chiefly from the richness of its marbles. It was first governors of the country. Antiquities have founded in 1238 by Baldwin, Count of Flanders frequently been found here. The church is reand Emperor of Constantinople. It deserves to markable for its architecture, and contains a superb be visited on account of the richness and grandeur pulpit, a masterpiece of Decreux, of Tournay. It of its ornaments, particularly a chef-dæuvre of was formerly an important fortress, and suffered Van Dyck, placed behind the high altar, and repre- many vicissitudes in the 9th and 10th centuries. senting the Elevation of the Cross. The tabernacle, It has manufactures of woollens, cloths, tobacco, a fine piece of carving, by the famous Lefevre, of

&c. Tournay; two bas-reliefs by Godecharles; and Christ at the Tomb, deserve to be noticed. This

Waereghem (Station). An important and church once possessed the small ivory statue of

ancient commune of the district of Courtray; the Virgin, known as the Virgin of Oroeningen, linen. Situated four miles north-west of it, is the

population, 7,220. It has a considerable trade in celebrated for the miracles which, according to

village of Roosbeke, remarkable as the spot where many, it performed; it is now in the church of

Philip Van Artevelde, the brewer of Ghent, suffered Saint Michael, and still attracts crowds of pilgrims

defeat by the French in 1382, losing his own life, to its shrine. The two towers, called Brotom

with 20,000 of his countrymen. Shortly after Torren, built in 1413, are remarkable for the

leaving Waereghem the railway crosses the stype, extreme strength and thickness of the walls; they are united by a bridge over the Lys, built in the

and, quitting West Flanders, enters into East

Flanders, passes Zulte, a town containing 2,000 year 1465.

inhabitants, and arrives at Deynze, after running The Market Houses are seen in all their ancient

in a right line, passing Olsene and then Mochelen; simplicity in the centre of the town; the front of

the former a commune of the district of Ghent, with the building is adorned by five elegant turrets.

a population of 2,600, and the latter a town of the There was formerly a high tower in the centre of the structure, in which the celebrated clock pre- 'inhabitants.

same district, containing a population of 2,100 viously mentioned was placed. A modern building has been erected for market purposes.

Deynze (Station) is situated on the left bank

of the Lys. On the opposite bank, between the Theatre: this is remarkable for the beauty of

road and the river, is Peteghem, a small commune its decorations; it forms part of the new market

containing 1,400 souls. Deynze is the chief place building

of a canton in the district of Ghent, and an ancient Promenades: the ramparts or boulevards sur- town; its population is 3,800. The principal Church, rounding Courtray form a fine walk, from which Nôtre Dame, is an old Gothic building, containing may be had a beautiful view of the city. The a fine picture, attributed to Jordaens, representing park of Saint George is likewise a delightful the Birth of Christ. Railway to Thielt, and to place; but by far the most agreeable of the public Audenarde or Oudenarde. Thielt (Station) is the walks is the esplanade; it is planted with chestnut

chief place of a canton in the district of Bruges. It is and lime trees, and has nicely laid out plots of the birth-place of Oliver le Daim, the celebrated green, furnished here and there with elegant and

barber of Louis XI. Pop, 12,000. Oudenarde comfortable seats.

(Station) is of very ancient origin, where MarlRailway to Bruges and Ostend; also to Ypres, borough and Prince Eugene defeated the French, Poperinghe, Renaix, Mons, &c.; and direct to 11th July, 1708. Great numbers of medals of the Brussels, viâ Audenarde, Sotteghem, Denderleeuw. Gauls and first Kings of France have been found here.

[graphic][subsumed][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][ocr errors][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed]
« ForrigeFortsæt »